And the winners are … : Indiana and Maryland. Mike Davis is continuing to prove he can coach, and his Hoosiers are continuing to prove everyone’s brackets wrong, as No. 5 seed Indiana will be playing for its first national title since 1987 tonight against top-seeded Maryland. The Terps, who nearly blew a 20-point lead in the Final Four for the second straight year, hung on to beat No. 1 seed Kansas – thanks to 33 points from All-America guard Juan Dixon – to advance to the NCAA championship game for the first time in school history.

Paul Wong
Big Ten Player of the Year Jared Jeffries pumps his fist after the Hoosiers clinched a shot at their first national title since 1987. (AP PHOTO)
Paul Wong
Juan Dixon was magnificent once again for the Terrapins, scoring a career-high 33 points in taking his team to its first ever title game appearance. (AP PHOTO)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *