The Michigan Daily exists to inform the University of Michigan and the Ann Arbor communities about events and issues of consequence to the University and Washtenaw County.

Mission Statement:

The Michigan Daily exists to inform the University of Michigan and the Ann Arbor communities about events and issues of consequence to the University and Washtenaw County.

We will maintain an entirely independent, student-run newspaper because we believe a voice separate from the University ensures our ability to hold the administration accountable and protect our coverage from outside interests.

We strive in all cases to uphold impartiality, fairness and the complete truth. We strive for equitable coverage in our representation of all communities, identities and groups.

We will work to attain a diverse staff to represent the broader campus community.

Operations: 

The Michigan Daily, the campus newspaper of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, published its first issue on Sept. 29, 1890. The student-run paper is published Monday through Friday during the fall and winter terms. During the winter 2021 semester, it is printing weekly on Wednesdays. During the spring and summer terms, it is published weekly.

The Daily operates on a campus without a journalism school. The newspaper, which is financially independent from the University, is based in the recently renovated Stanford Lipsey Student Publications Building at 420 Maynard St. in Ann Arbor. The renovations, made possible by a gift from alumnus and Buffalo News publisher Stanford Lipsey, updated the building by adding disabled access, air conditioning and other amenities while retaining its historic features. The Daily covers the University’s campus, administration, sports teams, faculty and culture as well as the town of Ann Arbor and other topics that affect the lives of students.

Alumni include playwright Arthur Miller, two-time presidential candidate Thomas Dewey, activist Tom Hayden and investment banker Bruce Wasserstein. Its former editors, reporters, photographers, business staff members and other alumni have gone on to work at publications like The New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Time magazine, The Associated Press and countless other media outlets.

Stanford Lipsey Student Publications Building
420 Maynard St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

JASMIN LEE
Editor in Chief
eic@michigandaily.com

AARON SANTILLI
Business Manager
business@michigandaily.com

Contact Information

News Tipstipline@michigandaily.com
Correctionscorrections@michigandaily.com
Letters to the Editortothedaily@michigandaily.com
News Sectionnews@michigandaily.com
Photography Departmentphoto@michigandaily.com
Arts Sectionarts@michigandaily.com
Editorial Pageopinion@michigandaily.com
Sports Sectionsports@michigandaily.com
Advertising Departmentwmg-contact@umich.edu

Editorial Staff

Paige Hodder
phodder@umich.edu
Managing Editor
Aya Salim
ayasalim@umich.edu
Digital Managing Editor
Dominic Coletti and Kristina Zheng
news@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing News Editors
Julian Barnard and Shubhum ‘Shubs’ Giroti
tothedaily@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Editorial Page Editors
Jared Greenspan and Nick Stoll
sports@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Sports Editors
Sabriya Imami and Lillian Pearce
arts@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Arts Editors
Grace Beal and Tess Crowley
photo@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Photo Editors
Sophie Grand and Erin Shi
design@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Design Editors
Grace Tucker
statement@michigandaily.com
Managing Statement Editor
Caroline Atkinson and Ethan Patrick
copydesk@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Copy Editors
Dora Guo and Eric Lau
webteam@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Online Editors
Hannah Elliott and Julia Raguckas
video@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Video Editors
Jessica Kwon and Eliya Imtiaz
michiganincolor@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Michigan in Color Editors
Doug McClure and Max Rosenzweig
podeditors@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Podcast Editors
Evan DeLorenzo and Zoe Storer
socialmedia@michigandaily.com
Co-Managing Social Media Editors
Andy Nakamura and Ripley Newman
accessandinclusion@michigandaily.com
Co-Chairs of Culture, Training, and Inclusion
Vanessa Kiefer and Sammy Sussman
vkiefer@umich.edu, sbsu@umich.edu
Co-Managing Focal Point Editors