DENVER – Senior captain Kevin Porter won the Hobey Baker Award, given to the top college player in the nation, tonight at the Pepsi Center in Denver.

Courtney Ratkowiak

Along with Porter, Miami (Ohio) senior Ryan Jones and Boston College junior Nathan Gerbe were finalists for the award. Gerbe was second in the nation in scoring, and showcased his offensive talent by notching a hat trick in Thursday’s semifinal game against North Dakota. Jones was a three-year captain for the RedHawks and finished with 31 goals this season.

Porter led the nation in goals and points per game during the regular season. He was named the CCHA Player of the Year.

A day after losing 5-4 in overtime to Notre Dame, the rest of the Wolverines sat in the back row of the lower bowl and gave Porter a standing ovation when his name was announced.

During Porter’s acceptance speech, he first recognized Gerbe and Jones for their accomplishments, then thanked his teammates, linemates Chad Kolarik and Max Pacioretty and coaches Red Berenson, Mel Pearson and Billy Powers.

Porter is the second Wolverine to win the award. Brendan Morrison won the award in 1997, also the day after Michigan lost in an NCAA semifinal game.

Read The Michigan Daily on Monday, April 14 for more comprehensive coverage of Porter’s Hobey Baker Award win.

Notes: Porter was named a member of the West All-America First Team. Kolarik was named to the Second Team.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *