The Athletic Department released Michigan’s finalized 2015 and 2016 football schedules on Tuesday and announced a home-and-home series with Arkansas beginning in 2018.

With the looming hiatus of the Michigan-Notre Dame rivalry in 2015 and beyond, the Athletic Department filled the non-conference schedule with several new opponents.

In 2015, the Wolverines will face Utah in Salt Lake City for the season opener before coming home to play Oregon State, UNLV and BYU.

Michigan holds a 1-1 all-time record against the Utes, including an infamous 25-23 defeat at Michigan Stadium in 2008. The Wolverines have faced Oregon State four times (4-0), Brigham Young once (0-1) and have never played UNLV.

The next fall, Michigan will open with consecutive home games against Hawaii, Miami (Ohio), Colorado and Ball State.

Michigan has played Hawaii twice (2-0), Colorado four times (3-1) and Ball State once (1-0). That game against Ball State was on Nov. 4, 2006, when Michigan squeaked out a 34-26 victory at Michigan Stadium. The head coach on the Cardinals’ sideline was Brady Hoke.

The home-and-home series between Michigan and Arkansas will fall on the respective opening weekends in 2018 and 2019. The Wolverines have faced the Razorbacks just once, a 45-31 victory at the Citrus Bowl on Jan. 1, 1999.

Here is the entirety of 2015-16 schedules:

Sept. 3 at Utah
Sept. 12 Oregon State
Sept. 19 UNLV
Sept. 26 BYU
Oct. 3 at Michigan State
Oct. 10 Wisconsin
Oct. 17 Minnesota
Oct. 24 at Illinois
Oct. 31 Bye
Nov. 7 Nebraska
Nov. 14 at Northwestern
Nov. 21 at Iowa
Nov. 28 Ohio State
Sept. 3 Hawaii
Sept. 10 Miami (Ohio)
Sept. 17 Colorado
Sept. 24 Ball State
Oct. 1 Michigan State
Oct. 8 at Minnesota
Oct. 15 Northwestern
Oct. 22 Bye
Oct. 29 at Wisconsin
Nov. 5 Illinois
Nov. 12 at Nebraska
Nov. 19 Iowa
Nov. 26 at Ohio State

Correction Appended: A previous version of this article misstated the date when Michigan played Arkansas in the Citrus Bowl

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.