The Big Ten Conference announced the winners of the postseason cross country awards yesterday.

The conference coaches named Michigan women’s cross country coach Mike McGuire the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the fourth straight year after he guided his team to a fourth consecutive conference title over the weekend. This marks the seventh time that McGuire has won this award. He won three straight from 1992-94. McGuire’s total ranks second all-time behind legendary former Wisconsin coach Peter Tegen, who won nine during his tenure in Madison.

Two Michigan athletes were also nominated for conference’s Sportsmanship Award, which goes to the student-athlete that demonstrates sportsmanship, ethical behavior and good citizenship.

The nominee from the women’s squad was sophomore Alyson Kohlmeier, who placed second in the Big Ten Championships and won the Big Ten Runner of the Week award three times.

Senior Rondell Ruff won the award for the men’s team. Ruff placed 30th at the Big Ten Championships and was the fourth Wolverine to cross the finish line.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.