The Big Ten released its All-Big Ten first team, second team and honorable mentions on Monday night, and there was plenty of Michigan representation. The All-Big Ten honors are split into two lists, one voted on by the Big Ten coaches and the other selected by the media.

Michigan finished its regular season at 8-4 after a 26-21 loss to Ohio State in Columbus on Saturday.
Below are Michigan’s All-Big Ten selections:

First team: redshirt junior left tackle Taylor Lewan, fifth-year senior right guard Patrick Omameh
Second team: fifth-year senior safety Jordan Kovacs, senior defensive end Craig Roh
Honorable mention: fifth-year senior cornerback J.T. Floyd, redshirt junior wide receiver Jeremy Gallon, redshirt junior kicker Brendan Gibbons, junior punter Will Hagerup, fifth-year senior wide receiver Roy Roundtree, redshirt sophomore linebacker Jake Ryan

First team: Hagerup, Lewan
Second team: Ryan
Honorable mention: senior defensive tackle Will Campbell, Floyd, freshman tight end Devin Funchess, Gallon, Gibbons, Kovacs, Omameh, senior quarterback Denard Robinson, Roh, Roundtree

Lewan was also named the recipient of the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award, given to the top offensive lineman in the Big Ten. Lewan, who has started 27 consecutive Michigan games, is following in the footsteps of center David Molk, currently of the San Diego Chargers, who won the award last fall.

Hagerup earned Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year honors. He punted 33 times this year, with a conference-leading average of 45.0 yards per punt.

Kovacs, a former student-body walk-on, was given the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for the second year in a row.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.