In the depts of a northern winter, the dim lights flicker like an old lantern. This week’s mix tape is a collection of songs that pay homage to the transgressions we humans commit. The A side is all revolver-spinning, bank-robbing anthems for malicious schemes and sinister pipe dreams. Side B is the confessional. It focuses on the aftermath of the evil deeds. If the torment of The Geto Boys and Joy Division is any indication, the penance we force on ourselves may be our eventual undoing. Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men? McGarvey knows.

Side A

1. Children’s Story — Slick Rick

2. 187 (Deep Cover Remix) — Dr. Dre and Snoop Doggy Dogg

3. Red Right Hand — Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

4. To Hell With Good Intentions — McLusky

5. Glocked Up (T.I. Diss) — Lil’ Flip

6. 9mm Goes Bangs — Boogie Down Productions

7. Frankie Teardrop — Suicide

8. If I Were Going — The Afghan Whigs

9. Run — Ghostface Killah and Jadakiss

10. Shook Ones Part II — Mobb Deep


Side B

1. Comin’ From Where I’m From — Anthony Hamilton

2. C.R.E.A.M. — The Wu-Tang Clan

3. The Foundation — Xzibit

4. I Am Not Batman — Mogwai

5. Safe — Scarface

6. Ghetto Qu’ran — 50 Cent

7. Hoist That Rag — Tom Waits

8. She’s Lost Control — Joy Division

9. Mind Playin’ Tricks On Me — The Geto Boys

10. Suicidal Thoughts — The Notorious B.I.G.

– Total run time: 84 minutes, 50 seconds

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *