The Michigan football team may have lost 10 of its 11 defensive starters from 2016, but as evident in this year’s All-Conference selections, that clearly was not an issue.

Ten of Michigan’s 2017 defensive starters were named to All-Big Ten teams Tuesday afternoon.

All-Big Ten Defense (Coaches)

First Team

Fifth-year defensive tackle Maurice Hurst

Sophomore defensive end Rashan Gary

Sophomore linebacker Devin Bush

Second Team

Redshirt junior defensive end Chase Winovich

Sophomore cornerback Lavert Hill

Third Team

Sophomore VIPER Khaleke Hudson

Honorable Mention

Fifth-year senior linebacker Mike McCray

Junior safety Tyree Kinnel

Sophomore safety Josh Metellus

All-Big Ten Defense (Media)

First Team



Second Team



Honorable Mentions





Sophomore cornerback David Long

The Wolverines’ defense led the nation in passing yards allowed per game and was ranked third in total defense with an average of 268 yards per game.

Hurst, the unanimous first team selection, finished sixth in the Big Ten in tackles for loss with 13.5, including five sacks, this season.

The only defensive starter left out of the All-Big Ten selection is freshman defensive tackle Aubrey Solomon. Though, he didn’t work his way into the starting lineup until Oct. 28 against Rutgers.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *