The University of Michigan’s oldest senior honor society, Order of Angell, has released their 2017 class.

The Order of Angell was created by a group of senior students in 1902 under the name Michigamua, along with then-University President James Burrill Angell. In the past, it has faced wide-ranging controversy over appropriation of Native American culture, most recently in 2000.

In 2006, the group changed their name to Order of Angell as part of a symbolic separation from the previous controversy. Their current stated purpose, according to a press release, is to connect senior student leadership for the betterment of the campus and the University as a whole.

“Each year the group is comprised of selected campus leaders from a diverse array of student organizations,” the release reads. “Although we do not represent all the leadership that exists on campus, this year’s class of 24 leaders will continue the mission to bridge campus divides, promote pride for the University, and unite our campus in all its breadth of diversity.”

From the 1970s through the mid-2000s, the society kept its annual list of new members private, encouraging public speculation as to what the society’s main function might be. Since 2006, the list has been publically released.

The 24 chosen students and the student groups they represent who will join the Order of Angell are as follows. The class include a member of The Michigan Daily’s business staff.

Henry Adams, Interfraternity Council

Joe Ambrose, Midnight Book Club

Grace Beckman, Alternative Spring Break

Terence Browner, National Pan-Hellenic Council and HEADS

Dennis Chang, Army ROTC

Jehu Chesson, Football

Becca Cohn, Society of Women Engineers

Abby Cole, Volleyball

Matt Fisher, MUSIC Matters

Micah Griggs, Central Student Government and National Council of Negro Women UM Section

Steven Halperin, Central Student Government

Kelsey Hayes, Lean In at the University of Michigan

Chloe Henderson, National Society of Black Engineers

Eman Hijab, Michigan Pakistanis

Daniel Huynh, FunKtion Dance Team and Vietnamese Student Association

Eitan Katz, Michigan Hillel

Asja Kepes, The Michigan Daily and Delta Gamma

Jaimie Phelan, Women’s Track and Field

Lalitha Ramaswamy, Maize Mirchi and TEDxUofM

Mikie Schlosser, Men’s Lacrosse

Allison Sheehan, Dance Marathon at the University of Michigan

Cameron Stitt, Men’s Swimming and Diving

McKenna Thayer, Michigan Marching Band

Eric Yu, MPowered Entrepreneurship

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *