Monday, October 31, 2016 - 11:21am
“Carrie”

With her bug-eyed stare and subtle Texas twang, Carrie’s the perfect religious-girl-who-loses-it. And when she does lose it, she does so with one of the best depictions of paralyzing rage I’ve ever seen.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 - 5:06pm

V2V is the kind of store that you want your closet to look like, no matter what you normally wear.

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 6:39pm

Around the two-hour mark of “American Honey,” I sat in the theater fidgeting and doing something I (almost) never do — covertly checking the time on my phone.

Sunday, October 9, 2016 - 4:43pm
“The Girl on the Train”

It’s not the cosmos that has the power in this film. It’s the men.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016 - 4:41pm

Why do we pursue art— watch Polanski movies, listen to Wagner, read Eliot — than to feel something, some fleeting emotion that brings us closer to the center of ourselves?

Sunday, October 2, 2016 - 6:48pm
“Author: The JT LeRoy Story”

“Author” isn’t about unmasking JT. The mask comes off within the first thirty minutes of the film.

Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 7:07pm
“Cruel Intentions”

It’s absolutely absurd and absolutely incredible.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016 - 4:44pm

Few other years in my (admittedly short) life warrant such a strong reaction as 13.

Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 5:13pm
“Little Men”

Sachs shows what friendship looks like without letting the audience in on its secrets and specificities.

Sunday, September 11, 2016 - 5:13pm
“Morris From America”

If “Morris From America” is anything, it’s charming.