Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 4:00pm
Gary Gulman performing

It’s different at the Showcase — Feeny provides a wealth of resources to his comedians.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 6:06pm
NOSELL

The latest documentary from Errol Morris is much too long for its subject matter.

Monday, September 11, 2017 - 7:37pm
.

The last time someone asked me where I was from, the response itself was long enough to be nominated for a writing award (it certainly wouldn’t win, if anything for lack of lucidity).

“I’m from the North Shore suburbs of Chicago, about 30 minutes on the 94, sort of near Northwestern University in Evanston, in John Hughes territory: You know, like “The Breakfast Club” and ‘Ferris Bueller.’”

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 2:07pm
NOSELL

But for a poetic film that is deeply literary — it starts with a Virginia Woolf quote after all — its visual style is a splendor.

Monday, June 19, 2017 - 6:59pm
NOSELL

Arteta’s film is a cathartic lampooning of the evidently dominant political ideology in America today, but the film doesn’t reach the heights of the best social satires.

Monday, April 17, 2017 - 4:41pm
NOSELL

Things happen in his movies, to be sure, but that’s not really the point.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 4:24pm
NOSELL

Ungur and Huang’s documentary revisits Romania to explore how the TV series shaped the country’s fabric.

Sunday, March 26, 2017 - 5:02pm
NOSELL

Child’s film invites its audience to contemplate how we think about political disruptors nowadays.

Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 2:45pm
NOSELL

It helps that Huppert, undeniably one of the greatest living actors, is on screen for much of the film.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 5:45pm
NOSELL

As the Sphinx Competition approaches its 20th birthday, Dworkin looked back at the organization’s progress.

Pages