Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Advertise with us »

March 3, 2011 - 4:16pm

Lloyd Carr to receive Duffy Daugherty Memorial Award


This April, former Michigan football coach Lloyd Carr will be honored with the 2011 Duffy Daugherty Memorial Award for his outstanding contributions to college football.

Carr coached the Wolverines to five Big Ten titles, a share of the national championship in 1997, a 122-40 record and 13 bowl appearances during his 13 seasons. He joined the Michigan staff in 1980 under Bo Schembechler and retired after the 2007 season.

The award honors the late Daugherty, who was the head coach at Michigan State for 19 years and led the Spartans to national championships in 1965 and 1966. In 1984, Daugherty was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Past recipients of the award include Schembechler, Joe Paterno, Bobby Bowden, Woody Hayes, Paul “Bear” Bryant, Bud Wilkinson and Keith Jackson. Ohio State coach Jim Tressel won the award in 2010.

Carr will become the third Wolverine to earn the honor, joining his mentor Schembechler and former Michigan athletic director Don Canham. Schembechler won it in 1998 and Canham won it in 2006.